Wednesday, November 19, 2008

Memcached - MySQL university


Memcached is a distributed caching system.


From Wikipedia:
memcached (pronunciation: mem-cache-dee.) is a general-purpose distributed memory caching system that was originally developed byDanga Interactive for LiveJournal, but is now used by many other sites. It is often used to speed up dynamic database-driven websites by caching data and objects in memory to reduce the number of times the database must be read.

memcached is used by some of the most popular sites on the Internet including Facebook and applications such as mediawiki.

If you wanted to know more about how to use memcached in MySQL deployments, there is a session on MySQL university.
Dimdim conferencing system is used for this session.


Title: Using memcached in MySQL deployments
Date:  November 20, 2008
Time:  14:00 UTC / 8am CST (Central) / 9am EST (Eastern) / 14:00 BST / 15:00 CET / 17:00 MDT (Moscow)
Presenter: MC Brown


Check out the below URL's for more details:

No comments: